Melba Recordings

"... a label of fragrant distinction"

There are no products in your shopping cart.

Order for delivery by post$55.00 Buy
Wagner: Das Rheingold
The State Opera of South Australia, Asher Fisch
Presented by Dr Douglas G. Mitchell
  • Adelaide Symphony Orchestra
  • Asher Fisch (Conductor)
  • John Bröcheler, Wotan
  • Timothy DuFore, Donner
  • Andrew Brundson, Froh
  • Christopher Doig, Loge
  • Elizabeth Campbell, Fricka
  • Kate Ladner, Freia
  • Liane Keegan, Erda
  • John Wegner, Alberich
  • Richard Greager, Mime
  • Andrew Collis, Fasolt
  • David Hibbard, Fafner
  • Natalie Jones, Woglinde
  • Donna-Maree Dunlop, Wellgunde
  • Zan McKendree-Wright, Flosshilde
Composer(s):  Wagner
Catalogue Number:  MR301089-90
Super Audio CD
"The sound is magnificent and for Wagner lovers and indeed opera lovers this set is a must. Stage Whispers (Australia)
"This production features above all the conducting of Asher Fisch, whose command of the musical architecture is truly impressive ..." Opus (Canada)
"... this is one of the most viscerally propulsive Rheingolds on disc...Anyone who loves Rheingold would do well to check out this version" AllMusic Guide (US)
" Fisch's slow building of the famous prelude ... is perhaps the best interpretation the passage has ever received" Stereophile (US)
"I cannot too highly praise the excellence of this performance ... I had to pinch myself that I was not dreaming ... invaluable" OzArts Review (Australia)

 Wagner wrote Das Rheingold as the grand prelude to Die Walküre, Siegfried and Götterdämmerung, the tripartite Ring, now regarded as 4 operas.


This opera is presented in a handsome hardbound volume with colour production photos, essays on the opera and the history of the Ring in Adelaide together with a full libretto. This stunning  premiere SACD hybrid surround recording features the talents of the State Opera of South Australia, the Adelaide Symphony Orchestra and a stellar cast conducted by Asher Fisch.

Reviews have been staggering for Melba Recordings’ SACD release of State Opera of South Australia’s production of Wagner’s Ring Cycle, recently launched in the UK, USA and Europe. The level of international acclaim for the release of the first instalment, Die Walküre (MR 301091-94) was quite unprecedented! Describing the recording as “as ground-breaking as Georg Solti’s Decca recording … one of the most significant recordings of the decade … energetic …history-in-the-making … a production worthy of Bayreuth … and the most recommendable of recent Walküres”, commentators acknowledge Melba as a spearhead of the international new wave of independent record companies revitalising classical music recording.
“it will certainly be good to hear other parts of the Adelaide Ring Cycle in due course.”

Download French Libretti

The 2 SACD set of  Das Rheingold is not available for download,
however selected tracks as part of a 2 SACD set "RING HIGHLIGHTS" are now available.

Read more

Order for delivery by post$55.00 Buy